azzasvoice

Just another WordPress.com site

First Blog

So, I have been  forced to write a blog. Actually a few friends suggested that I do so about a year ago. What for?  I asked. To me blogs just seem to be postings of random and not so random thoughts about life.  Ok, I actually read a lot of DIY blogs on almost anything, especially if  I want to learn from another persons experience. Yet some blogs ( like this one), are simply about nothing, leaving me to wonder why they are posted at all.

You see, I am returning to college , to finish what I started about twenty years ago.  Most communication and assignments will be through the World Wide Web, the world’s boundriless meeting place. In addition to a few basics such as Algebra and Degree planning and Visual Literacy,  I am enrolled in a Creativity and Multicultural Communication course.  It  does not begin until September 12th, therefore I cannot fully explain it.  What I do know is that it is interactive, and that I’ve been forced to blog. It is a requirement for the course.

I chose to use WordPress only because a friend mentioned it to me about a year ago. It took me about a half hour to choose a theme. I sorted through five pages only to go back to the Andrea theme on page one.  Then I had to pick a background color, I instinctively gravitated to blue. But will other readers be able to tolerate blue  I wondered? Perhaps black or dark grey. I used these on a website when I shared photos once and the color definitely made the photos stand out. What am I supposed to write about? I have eight children, blogging about life with them may cause anyone employed in the psychiatric field to post their contact information in the comment box. I have two grandsons, I think that I am too young to blog about those two  cute, adorable, huggable,  kissable, chunky cheeked little boys.  Nah, that’s for older people right? (smooch on the cheek  Jammer and Dot). I am Muslim. But wait, Sept. 11th is approaching, someone may misinterpret a simple blog about being a Muslim lady in America, and forward it to Homeland Security, that’s if they are not reading this already. So what’s left?

We shall see.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “First Blog

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Hey there!
    My name is Toni and I am new to wordpress and CMC11. I am still confused… Three weeks in. Maybe all the computer lingo is really throwing me off! I used to blog a lot, before college and motherhood. Never on an actual blog site but more so on social networking sites. Well then again, this may be considered a social networking site. Ugh. I don’t know. I’m so confused. I have tried posting comments on other blogs but they don’t show up! I hope that this makes it to you and also look forward to learning with you about this course, from what I do understand it seems to be an exciting process. Good luck:)

    • Hi Toni, I am soooo new to this too, that’s why you only see two blogs. I added the second one today. I tell you that it took almost 30mins. to get that photo up. I ran outside, took the photo, did a quick edit , then had to insert into my blog. I felt that I had actually accomplished something. Whoohoo! I suppose that I should have started two years ago when my friends told me to. Well you wrote me, so that’s a start , but how did you find me? I never saw my first blog anywhere in CMC11. This is my first time using WordPress, so I had to Google and check the whole rss feed business. I am not sure that I have done that correctly.
      We need to figure it out soon before we become the project, ” What happens when you do not stay connected” or ” People who cannot blog, and their impact on society”.
      I am not even sure what I am supposed to blogging about. Somehow we shall figure this out the week before it all ends :).

      • Amen to that! I just keep going with the flow and reading everything… But, I really feel like I am not participating! You showed up in my daily email. There are so many links that sometimes I get lost! I am worried that my posts are not showing up either, but hey… I found you and you can read my posts:) Success… well at least to me. I have figured out the first part, actually posting. I think they are working because I have received an email or two. We are on the right track… I think 🙂 I see a lot of mindmaps and doodles and stuff too. I’m still trying to figure out how to manage making one of those! How do I subscribe to your blog? I can’t find it:/

  3. Hi. Long story short… I threw away the conventions of nothing or something, right or wrong, good or bad. I began to feel like those conventions were constraints, and were not always going to be necessary for this course. By tossing them in the proverbial heap, I began to write, and share, and join groups and discussions, and everyday, little by little, my participation grows and my network expands.

    -ari
    CMC11

Leave a Reply

